Please Ask, Please Tell

A Blog : a web log of an individual’s thoughts, experiences, opinions and ideas etc. I am told it is a sort of journaling: A way of sharing, a way of gathering people together in front of a computer screen through which friends and would be friends can interact through cyberspace.

So in launching my blog I find myself thinking of what would be of interest to those who log on to read or see and hear what I have to say. I ask myself; and how could any of my daily, weekly or monthly musings give you reason to log on? And what am I willing to share about myself and my life?

I am willing to give you the benefit of my 35 years of working with thousands of people in my hypnotherapy practice; blog it if I can, in a nutshell. I am willing to tell you how I have mastered a challenge in the hope it will help you do the same. I am willing to share how I have grown from an experience that I thought I would have shrunk from.

However, quite frankly I find myself hesitating to share deeply personal things as I have seen other bloggers do. I am inherently a private person, some say because I have the British reserve; although I do share, when relevant to the therapeutic process, the value of my own personal experiences. And it isn’t that my life and work aren’t wonderfully interesting; in fact they are, very much so; actually some days are full of drama and intrigue and often include some awesome experiences. I have written some Reflections on a recent one on my website (www.elainekissel.com).

You see I have always thought of a diary or a journal as a book with a lock on it and kept in a safe place, hidden from all possible invasions of privacy: A deeply personal letting out of the contents of one’s psyche, a sort of cathartic as well as an opportunity to better know ourselves and how we evolve over time through openly honest written expression. I am fully aware though, that once a blog is broadcast, what would otherwise be a private dairy, an intimate chronicle, would not remain so.

“Honestly, do you really want to know that much about me and what goes on in my head or my life?” After all I am not a figure of paparazzi interest like a movie star or royalty. And, I ask myself, “Am I vain enough to think that my life and what I have to say is so interesting that you would want to know?” Yes, I have written a book, THE MIND IS WILLING, and I have helped thousands of people with MY WHOLE MIND HYPNOTHERAPY, my MIND MASTERY course and WEIGHT CONTROL seminar. But I have not yet been invited on the Oprah Winfrey show!

So now I ask you this question: “What do you expect to find when you go to my blog?” Please tell me before I expound needlessly!

However, now that I come to think about it, my sense of what would work better for all of us is for you to ask me questions: With the understanding of course that I am free to graciously decline an answer if it intrudes on my privacy in any way.

So this is an invitation to Ask Dr. Kissel, my Q & A blog. I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely, Elaine

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Please Ask, Please Tell”

  1. Donna Lopatka Says:

    I attended your dream workshop. I am very sure that people will want to hear just how very important your dreams really are.

    • Dr. Elaine Kissel Says:

      Thanks Donna for your question.

      It is hard for some people to accept that their dreams are more than nighttime ramblings of subconscious/brain processes. However, once people realize their dreams are full of important messages and meanings, they are not only delighted to have the aid and advice provided therein, they also have a wonderful new and better working relationship with their subconscious.

      Dreams are a psychological treasure trove. Once you start to decipher their meanings, you have insights and understanding about yourself and your life that would otherwise not be available to you. That is unless you learn to dialog with your subconscious the way I teach all my clients as well as in MIND MASTERY. The Ohs and Ahs and other thrilled exclamations about their discoveries as my students and clients recognize their dreams’ meaning speaks reams of the value of dream interpretation.

      Dreams are the subconscious speaking to us in its own language: They are metaphorical, analogous, and symbolic and sometimes a play on words and puns. There is the manifest and latent content, and it is our responsibility to learn to translate the language of dreams, for they are not meaningless. In fact when my clients share their dreams with me, which I encourage them to do, they almost always offer ways for us to progress in the therapeutic process.

      I have never known anyone who works with their dreams who has not been greatly entertained and helped in myriad ways. They have been warned, they have been given powerful insights, and they have had the kinds of revelations that changed their relationships and their lives; they have been given advice and guidance in making wise decisions and when they pay attention, it pays off in more ways than you can imagine.

  2. Leonard Norman Says:

    I have used hypnotherapy in the past with some moderate success, but I feel that the positive effects have not been lasting. Could you please elaborate on how this process affects the mind and why the positive benefits seem to be so transient.

    • Donna Lopatka Says:

      I would like to hear more about your successes with sending healing. I know your cats have long past lived their life expectancies.

      Is it more difficult to send healing to people you love, because you are too close to the situation?

      • Dr. Elaine Kissel Says:

        Donna, your question about my healing practices, particularly related to my cats…

        You are referring to my orange tabby, Robert, who is almost 24 years old and Rhonda, a healthy amazingly intelligent 17-year-old black short hair, probably part Siamese, because she is so verbal. They are indeed unusually spry and remarkably good looking for their ages. Don and I consider them husband and wife, for their relationship has all the characteristics of a couple married for 20 years!

        Yes, I do healing on them whenever they need it. They drink purified water, and eat good quality cat and human food. They probably have good genes, and are of course loved with great devotion. They are strictly indoor cats, although they have escaped when the opportunity has occurred; although reluctant to give up this new found freedom to explore, they come back inside to the safety and familiarity of their home without too much persuasion. 

        I do at times, while stroking them, send them healing energy. It doesn’t take much to do that and they seem to purr even louder when I do.

        Regarding healing loved ones, as long as your intent to heal is unfettered with anxiety, it can be so effective. All healing is based on love, and the genuine desire and intent to help. The meditative healing I teach as well as the hands on healing works as well for those we are closely related to as much as those who are unknown to us and can have remarkable results if approached correctly. You need to remember that your focus on healing and not the problem is very important.

        Often people doing healing for people they have strong emotional connections with are hampered by working at it too hard, being too emotionally invested in the desired outcomes. Take the same attitude when healing loved ones as you do with strangers, and let go; always remember too, that when we heal others we heal ourselves.
         

    • Dr. Elaine Kissel Says:

      Leonard, thanks so much for visiting my blog, and welcome.

      Your comments about temporary results from hypnosis are not new to me, because so often people come to me expressing the same disappointment from sessions with other hypnotherapists.

      I don’t know what kind of hypnosis you experienced or how many sessions you had, however I can say that there is no “one size fits all” hypnosis. You are an individual, so unless the hypnotherapeutic process is designed specifically for you, with all due consideration for your language and learning styles; your ways of processing and how quickly you integrate new ideas and associations, and many other things, hypnosis will be a hit and miss affair. All behavior is motivated, so it is crucial that the issues that underlie behaviors also be resolved. Only when all these elements are included in the process are we able to make and maintain positive changes.

      You can go on my website http://www.elainekissel.com and hear my lecture on hypnosis. It will answer many of your questions about hypnosis.

Leave a Reply

